PK Ong

Inspiring basketball and life!

How Much Do You Love the Game?

I still get butterflies in my stomach before every basketball game, even after more than 20 years of playing basketball. The excitement and adrenaline of stepping out onto the court and facing opponents with my teammates still gets me every time. Do you feel the same way when you go out to play?

Like some (or most active) players my age, I have had my fair share of injuries throughout my basketball playing days. Fractured forearm, fractured nose, stitching above both eyes, knee and ankle, dislocated finger, etc. Everyone gets injured, that’s a fact. Some get injured more than others, that’s also a fact. The harder you play, the higher the chances of injury. The challenge, is whether one gets back from the more serious injuries in one’s playing career.

Example: there was once in a league game where I chased after a loose ball and flew out of the court and saved it. In the same sequence, I slipped over a puddle and handed on my head. Had a serious cut which bled profusely and a concussion. Was sent to hospital and spent the day there in my basketball attire.

Another time was fracturing my nose in a pickup game with my Sunday basketball buddies. Several months out of action, and when I returned, I played in a plastic clear facial mask, ordered from Amazon. During the time I could not play, I worked on my shooting. Hundreds and hundreds of shots made. I came back a better shooter after the injury that kept me out of the game for months. I still keep the mask in my display cabinet as a memento. (see pic in post!)

Many a time, it is not about the extent of the injury, but one’s mindset. How much do you love the game?

Is it something you can give up without regretting that you did? When you faced an injury, what did you do? Did you tell yourself, this is it, I can’t play anymore?

Or, did you tell yourself, I’m going to come back, even stronger and better?

Mindset is the Difference

It is ALL about the mindset. The story you tell yourself in your head. Like the saying goes, you are what you THINK. The body subconsciously levitates towards what you think, so if you think you can, you CAN. If you think you can’t, you can’t!

Yes, a handful of players do have such devastating injuries that it is impossible for them to play again, but is that your story? Michael Jordan had a broken foot in his second year that kept him out for most of the season, but he came back from it even stronger and better, and scored 63 against Larry Bird’s Celtics in the playoffs!

Local sports fans might have heard the story of a former local professional player who had a serious head injury that it seemed improbable that he would ever play again. The incident was all over the local sports news back then.

Given the circumstances, most guys would have hung up their sneakers and say, “I’m done.” But this guy didn’t, in fact, he is now back wearing protective head gear and even playing Div 1 basketball!

I’m full of respect for him, really. It takes an immense amount of courage and passion for one to come back from an injury like his and become an active player again. It would have been easy for someone in his position to quit and do something else, but he came back to play the game he loved. So, how much do YOU love the game?

Live with a Passion!

Everything else in life can be related in the same way. Humans are beings of thought and passion. How many great achievements have been made historically by people with a burning desire to better the lives of others and themselves?

People who live without any love or passion in their lives have never really lived. Yes, they existed, but they never really LIVED. So, ask yourself… Are you merely existing, or are you living?

If you love life and live with a passion, that’s really, really awesome! Love what you love, and love what you do. Keep it up that way! If you don’t, take a moment and think about it. Is this where you want to be? Is this whom you want to be? If not, it is time to take action towards living life! Never too late to start right now!

You are either building your dreams, or you are being paid by someone to help some build theirs! So which would you rather choose?

Should you choose the former, please feel free to get in touch with me. Life’s too short to be not living your dreams, don’t you think?

20130212-000606.jpg

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2013 by in Basketball, Inspiration, Mindset and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 1,292 hits
February 2013
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728